Pin on Pinterest
Two members of Altrusa International of Downtown Dallas received recognition for their thirty years of service in the club. Receiving 30-year pins from Membership Chair Kim Abmeyer (L-R) were Mediator Barbara Clay and Holly Roundtree, CPA. Both women are past presidents of the club and have won multiple awards in their three decades of service to the club and the citizens of downtown Dallas.


Altrusa International of Downtown Dallas has installed new officers for the 2017-2018 year.

Attorney Nicole LeBoeuf, a member of the community service club since September of 2011, is the new president. She is the owner of LeBoeuf Law, PLLC, located in downtown Dallas.  A graduate of the University of Texas School of Law with an undergraduate degree in English and Government from UT-Austin, she has been an active volunteer in the Dallas community for years, including as a volunteer advocate for CASA, Court Appointed Special Advocates, for 16 consecutive years. She served as President-elect in 2016-2017, stepping in to run meetings if 2016-2017 President Nina Cox was out of town. Dallas Attorney Martha Hardwick Hofmeister, President of the Altrusa Club of Downtown Dallas twice, invited LeBoef to join the club six years ago and was her sponsor.

A civil trial lawyer with active experience in both state and federal courts, as well as in arbitration, LeBoeuf has expertise in the areas of professional liability and business litigation.

President-elect Judy Porter will follow in LeBoef’s footsteps next year. A member of Altrusa since 1990, she was Vice President of Communications for Altrusa this past year. She owns Porter People PR, a public relations business that helps promote small businesses and nonprofits that help women and children and promotes literacy, such as Youth Believing in Change, an afterschool program for latch-key children located on Stults Road in Lake Highlands. Porter graduated Magna Cum Laude from West Virginia University with a degree in Journalism and has a Master’s in Theology and an MBA in Human Resources from the University of Dallas.

Treasurer Debbie Tull, former Executive Director and COO of the Salvation Army of DFW, joined Altrusa in June of 1994. She is now Operations Partner of Mobility Ventures, a strategic resource partner helping entrepreneurs succeed in building great companies. She was voted Altrusan of the Year in 2012 after chairing Dessert First, the bi-annual fund raiser sponsored by Altrusa, to its most successful year raising over $80,000 to donate to local agencies.

Board Secretary Fay Hamden is a new member of the club, having joined in April of 2016. She is originally from Australia and now lives in McKinney. She is a Fashion Stylist with Cabi.

Vice President of Communications, Lisa Robinson of Southlake, owns and runs a successful business, Memories Made Events. She joined Altrusa in 2015.

Fund raising VP for 2017-2018 is Nina Cox, a top Mary Kay sales executive and the previous 2016-2017 club president. She was also honored as the “Heart of Altrusa” at the banquet, as voted on by members of the club.

Membership VP is Christina Coultas, former Senior Director of Community Collaboration for the Family Place and an Altrusa member since 2015.

Service VP is Kathleen Scott, a veteran member of the club, having joined in November of 1989 and a recipient of multiple club awards including Community Service Superstar in 1999 and Club Fund Raising Superstar in 2012. Scott also served of club president in 1998-99.

Board Parliamentarian Karen Washington, a practicing Attorney, was appointed by Nicole LeBoeuf. Washington is a returning member to the club, rejoining in 2012 after a short break.

Two members received recognition for their thirty years in the club. Receiving 30-year pins were Mediator Barbara Clay and Holly Roundtree, CPA. Both are past presidents of the club and have won multiple awards in their three decades of service to the club and the citizens of downtown Dallas.

In addition to installing new officers at the Banquet, outgoing President Nina Cox began the evening with highlights of the success of the club’s year, and announced the awards that were presented to the club at the state-wide District Nine Conference held last month in Waco.

The awards included:

  • Second Place Edith DeBusk President’s Award to 2015-2016 honoring president Niki Payne
  • Third place for the Club Communication Award and it’s chair, Marsha Reynolds
  • Third Place for the Joella Terrill Butler Membership Award for bringing in so many quality members
  • Third Place awards for generosity: for the Linda Nichols Foundation Contribution Awards - Total Club Contributions
  • Third Place for Highest Number of Club 21 Members, a fund used originally to help women and children with HIV-related health issues

The Downtown Dallas Club’s District Nine Club All-Star Amy Gavigan was honored in Waco and at the Lakewood dinner, and later received the club’s most coveted annual award as “Altrusan of the Year,” voted on by the members of the club. She is the outgoing Board Secretary.

Sixteen members of the 80-member club received perfect attendance awards for being at all 21 meetings during the year 2015-2016: Kim Abmeyer; Lynne Auerbach; Kathaleen Bauer; Nina Cox; Amy Gavigan; Martha Hofmeister; Barbara Kennedy; Scottie Kennedy; Dorothy Nowlin; Niki Payne; Judy Porter; Marsha Reynolds; Holly Roundtree; Kim Schonwald; Debby Weber; and Ann Worthy.

Altrusa is a service organization for civic-minded people who strive to create better communities worldwide. The Downtown Dallas Club was found in 1982. Meetings are held once a month in the City Club in the Bank of America Building downtown, and a new monthly evening meeting is planned monthly for this 2017-2018 year. Recent recipients of service and donations include Youth Believing in Change, Vickery Meadow Learning Center, Meals on Wheels, Bar None, Irma Rangel Leadership School for Girls, Attitudes and Attire and Juliette Fowler Communities' Ebby House.

For more information see: or the club's Facebook page, Altrusa International of Downtown Dallas.

Or contact membership chair Christina Coultas:

Recognize 5541 Views