Pin on Pinterest
Newly Installed board members of the Altrusa International of Downtown Dallas Service Club enjoyed an evening of friendship and awards at the Lakewood Country Club Tuesday, May 21. L-R: Tamika Jones Abendroth, Naomi Ayala, Fay Hamden, Judy Porter, Kathleen Scott, Tena Callahan, Michelle Kubits, Karen Washington and Debbie Tull - President 2019-2020.

The BEST way to find yourself is in Service to Others – Ghandi

It is more important to be of service than be successful – Robert Kennedy

Everybody can be Great because ANYBODY can serve - Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

These were the inspiring quotes that began the 2019 Altrusa International of Downtown Dallas Club’s Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet held at the Lakewood Country Club Tuesday evening. May 21. 

The service club has helped raised over $3 million dollars since its inception in 1982 to help women and children in crisis. The current 65 club members consist of Attorneys, judges, CPAs, MBAs and other business executives. Club Vice President of Membership, Attorney Tamika Jones-Abendroth, was the mistress of ceremonies for the evening.

Outgoing Club President Judy Porter, a Lake Highlands resident, was awarded the “Altrusan of the Year” honor by the club’s members for her year of work with the club. She joined Altrusa in 1990 when she was the Volunteer Coordinator of Bryan's House, a home for children with HIV.

Porter was also surprised to earn the “Superstar” award from the Communications Committee for her year-long commitment to publicizing the club’s goal of quality community outreach and service to the city of Dallas. A former high school teacher and coach, Porter runs a PR firm that highlights local heroes, small businesses, non-profits and students in the metroplex. She has been a member of the Oak Cliff Lions Club, Dallas Deanery of Catholic women and has been an Altrusan for 29 years.

Fifth-year Altrusa Club member Monica Urbaniak of Lakewood received the Superstar Award for Service, having volunteered at most of the club'c monthly service projects and contributing to the committee meetings with her ideas and insights. Urbaniak was the founder of the Dallas Rape Crisis center and is now in private practice.

Christina Coultas, also a five-year member, was voted the “Heart of Altrusa,” a coveted award from the club. She worked as the Communications Vice President this year and updated the club’s public website, this year.

The club met the first Tuesday of each month at the City Club at the Bank of America Building downtown for over three decades but moved this year to the Park City Club located on Sherry Lane. Part of an International service organization, the members help women and children in crisis and promotes literacy.

Last month at the state-wide District Conference held in Grapevine, the Downtown Dallas Club was awarded a $4,000 grant to continue its work with Incarnation House, a safe place for homeless teens to go after school to study and eat dinner. Altrusans served dinner to the teens again Monday, the night before the awards banquet.

The Club members also donate to the Reagan Lorenzen Scholarship Fund, in the name of a former beloved club president, which provides scholarships to first-generation college students graduating from the Irma Rangel Leadership School for Girls. Nine scholarships of $1,000 each were awarded this month to nine graduates of the DISD school.

Meals on Wheels, Shared Housing, HRI and Aberg Literacy are a few of the many non-profits Altrusa of Downtown Dallas pairs up with to make the City of Dallas a better place to work and live.

Members come from a variety of backgrounds and careers, and invite any one interested in serving the Dallas Community to come to a Monthly lunch to learn more. See the club’s website or Facebook page for more information, or text 972-880-5571.


“Love ought to consist of deeds more than words.” - St. Ignatius Loyola

ONLY a life lived in service to others is worth living – Albert Einsten


2018-2019 Outgoing Club Officers Honored:

Judy Porter, MBA, President

Deborah Tull, President Elect

Naomi Ayala, Vice President Fundraising

Christina Coultas, Vice President Communications

Tamika Jones Abendroth, Vice President Membership

Karen Washington, Vice President Services

Lee Dorsett, Parliamentarian

Karen Zahaluk, Secretary

Kim Abmeyer, Treasurer

Nicole LeBoeuf, Past President



2019-2020 CLUB OFFICERS Installed May 21, 2019

Deborah Tull, CPA, President

Karen Washington, President Elect

Naomi Ayala, Vice President Fundraising

Fay Hamdan, Vice President Communications

Amy Gavigan, Vice President Membership

Tamika Jones Abendroth, Vice President Services

Kathleen Scott, Parliamentarian

Tena Callahan, Secretary

Michelle Kubitz, Treasurer

Judy Porter, MBA, Past President


Recognize 5231 Views